Standardized Field Sobriety Testing

DUI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) Basic Course

Every year, impaired drivers cause thousands of traffic deaths and injuries. Law enforcement officers play a leading role in getting these drivers off our roads. The SFST course gives law enforcement the skills needed in detecting impaired drivers and administering a series of test to determine if there is evidence of impairment. This course was developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and approved by the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP). National standards have been established by IACP to ensure consistency in the content, delivery, and application of this training program. The NHTSA/IACP basic course is the only curriculum that meets these standards.

This 24-hour course consists primarily of hands-on training utilizing both a wet lab or dry lab workshop. The wet lab employs volunteers who consume alcohol while the dry lab relies on video presentations of impaired subjects. Participants learn:

How to recognize behavior that points towards impaired driving.

The importance of the SFST battery and how to properly administer the tests.

When to make a DUI arrest.

How to write accurate and detailed reports.

How to give clear and convincing testimony.

The Kansas Department of Transportation provides funding to facilitate SFST training to local law enforcement officers statewide. Although DUI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing courses are now required basic law enforcement training, this training is also still available to your agency for training with a wet lab workshop.

In addition to basic SFST Training, there is a four hour SFST Refresher training course offered on a biennial (two-year cycle) basis for officers that have completed the 24-hour basic SFST Course. Officers completing the 24-hour Basic Course will be credentialed for a period of two years. After the initial credential period expires, officer can renew their credentials by attending the four hour refresher course. All credentials are valid for a period of two years.

For more information, contact:

Kansas Highway Patrol Breath Alcohol Unit
Lt. Matt Payne, State DRE Program Coordinator