
National Work Zone Awareness 
Week educates the public of the 
need for safety in work zones. It 
brings to light the hazards and 
dangers of driving through work 
zones and how to avoid them.
Orange is the primary safety 
color in work zones. And Go 
Orange Day in Kansas is 
Wednesday, April 19 - everyone 
is encouraged to wear orange 
and show highway workers and 
everyone who works along the 
roadways how much their efforts 
are appreciated.

Visit KDOT’s website, www.ksdot.gov

 - Tips to follow in work zones -     
sFollow traffic control and expect delays
sPay attention/be alert, watch for workers   	
sAllow ample space between vehicles     
sChange lanes when directed to do so

KDOT highway workers in Bonner Springs

National Work Zone Awareness Week in Kansas
April 17-21, 2023

A FEW KANSAS WORK ZONE FACTS 

For more information, contact the 
KDOT Communications Division, 
700 SW Harrison St., 2nd Floor 
West, Topeka, KS, 66603-3745, 
phone 785-296-3585 (Voice)/
Hearing Impaired – 711.

--About 85 to 90% of the time, the people 
injured in work zone crashes are motorists. 
In 2022 in Kansas, 13 people died in work 
zone crashes and 341 people were injured. 

--Fines are double in all Kansas work 
zones, whether they are major construction 
projects or short-term maintenance 
projects. If you don’t slow down, you will 
pay up.

--The top contributing circumstance of 
work zone crashes is inattention. Others 
include following too closely, driving too 
fast for conditions, improperly changing 
lanes and violating the right of way.

--There was an average of 3.1 work zone 
crashes every day in Kansas in 2022 
(1,149 crashes). The good news – about 
77 percent of the crashes were property 
damage only. The bad news - every crash 
has the possibility of affecting lives forever.

--Speeding up to 65 mph from 55 mph will 
only save you a minute on a six-mile trip.

--The Kansas Move Over Law requires 
motorists on four-lane highways to switch to 
the lane furthest from any stationary vehicle 
displaying flashing lights, if it is safe to do 
so. On two-lane highways, slow down and 
proceed with caution. Citations carry a $195 
fine plus court costs.


