Eisenhower State Office Building 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603



phone: 785-296-3585 fax: 785-296-0287 www.ksdot.org

Deb Miller, Secretary

Department of Transportation

Sam Brownback, Governor

March 28, 2011 11-021

IMMEDIATE RELEASE

News Contact: Stan Whitley, (785) 296-3585

Trio receives national safety award for public service

Kansas Secretary of Transportation Deb Miller, State Senator Dwayne Umbarger and Executive-Vice President of Kansas AAA Jim Hanni have been given the National Traffic Safety Administration's (NHTSA) award for Public Service.

The three were honored today during the NHTSA awards luncheon in Phoenix. Umbarger, Chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee, Miller and Hanni were instrumental in getting a primary seat belt law passed in Kansas during the 2010 legislative session.

"Kansas is experiencing the lowest number of total highway fatalities since 1950, the highest seat belt usage rates in history and more than a seven percent reduction in alcohol-impaired driving fatalities," said David Strickland, NHTSA Administrator. "These accomplishments are in large measure the result of the commitment of highways safety leaders like you."

Since Secretary Miller took office in 2003, KDOT has made great strides in reducing deaths and injuries on state roadways. In 2008, there were 385 fatalities on Kansas roadways – the lowest ever recorded in the state.

Other significant safety achievements include a continual raise in safety belt usage to an all-time high of 82 percent in 2010 and passage of a booster seat law in 2006.