Eisenhower State Office Building 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603



phone: 785-296-3585 fax: 785-296-0287 www.ksdot.org

Mike King, Secretary

Sam Brownback, Governor

July 16, 2013

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

News Contact: Kim Stich, (785) 296-3585

Poster contest aims to Put the Brakes on Fatalities

Kids ages 5 to 13 in Kansas are encouraged to enter artwork for a statewide poster contest focusing on Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day - a nationwide effort to increase roadway safety and reduce all traffic fatalities.

Three statewide winners will receive family packages at the Great Wolf Lodge and also \$50 gas cards from QuikTrip Corporation.

A total of 18 regional winners in the six regions and age groups (ages 5-7, ages 8-10 and ages 11-13) will each receive a bicycle and a helmet donated by Safe Kids Kansas.

All entries must be postmarked by Friday, Sept. 20, and should be mailed to: AAA Kansas, Public Affairs, 3545 SW 6th Street, Topeka, KS, 66606. On the back of the 8 ½ by 11-inch paper entry must be the child's full name; age at time of entry; mailing address; county; a parent's name; and contact phone number. For more information on the contest and the national safety campaign, go to KDOT's Internet main website page at www.ksdot.org.

Below are the names of Kansas kids who have won the contest in the past three years:

2012 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas - Cresinda Bandel, Oskaloosa; Addison Mae Gehrt

Westmoreland; Jacque Stroud, Topeka.

North Central Kansas - Kady Toote, **Washington**; Leah Feldman, **Gypsum**; Eleanor Wiles, **Gypsum**.

Northwest Kansas - Hayden Gottstine, Logan; Haylee Tien, Logan.

<u>Southeast Kansas</u> - Kasey Paige Smith, **Cherryvale**; Anna Ecoff, **Parsons**; Riley Brown, **Humboldt**.

<u>South Central Kansas</u> - Von Woleslagel, **Hutchinson**; Lauren Mason, **Benton**; Heather Woleslagel, **Hutchinson**.

<u>Southwest Kansas</u> - Serra Clarke, **Jetmore**; Carson Linenberger, **Garden City**; Clara Jackson, **Garden City**.

2011 Poster Contest Winners

<u>Northeast Kansas</u> - Sierra de Koning, **Axtell**; Reagan de Koning, **Axtell**; Neeharika Kothapalli, **Overland Park.**

<u>North Central Kansas</u> - Elijah Schmidt, **Junction City**; Breckyn Martens, **McPherson**; Zoey Rankin, **Ottawa.**

<u>Northwest Kansas</u> - Aaron Moore, **Oakley**; Indigo Guise, **WaKeeney**; Donnovan Schroeder, **Herndon**.

<u>Southeast Kansas</u> - Abigail Balson, **Coffeyville**; Macie Ables, **Fredonia**; Nathan Cunningham, **Iola.**

<u>South Central Kansas</u> - Heath David Moeckel, <u>Plevna</u>; Britton Maclaughlin, <u>Arkansas</u> City; Jack Kelly Lynch, <u>Wichita</u>.

<u>Southwest Kansas</u> - Emmi Lott, **Rolla**; Emily Allen, **Garden City**; John Dohogne, **Garden City**.

2010 Poster Contest Winners

<u>Northeast Kansas</u> - Corissa Bandel, **Oskaloosa**; Youna Song, **Manhattan**; Ashley Grimm, **Morrill**.

North Central Kansas - Makayla Sanderson, **Courtland**; Breckyn Martens, **McPherson**; Dylan Hollerich, **Tipton**.

<u>Northwest Kansas</u> - Jailey Gallentine, **Gove**; Reanna Harman, **Hays**; Morgan Kathleen Beougher, **Stockton**.

<u>Southeast Kansas</u> - Abigail Balson, **Coffeyville**; Riley Brown, **Humboldt**; Madi McDonald, **Chanute**.

<u>South Central Kansas</u> - Calli Hatfield, **Wellington**; Taya Wilson, **Sterling**; Morgan Friesen, **Andover**.

<u>Southwest Kansas</u> - Monserrat Acosta, **Dodge City**; Grace Lang, **Fowler**; Ana Maria Chairez-Almeda, **Garden City**.

###

This information can be made available in alternative accessible formats upon request. For information about obtaining an alternative format, contact the Office of Public Affairs, 700 SW Harrison St., 2nd Fl West, Topeka, KS 66603-3754 or phone 785-296-3585 (Voice)/Hearing Impaired – 711.

Click below to connect to KDOT's Social Networks:









