

Bureau of Transportation Information 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603-3754

NEWS RELEASE

June 28, 2007

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

News Contact: Stan Whitley, (785) 296-3585 or John Eichkorn, (785) 296-5963

Grace period for laws protecting highway workers ends June 30

The warning period is over. Beginning on July 1, drivers cited for failure to move over for highway maintenance vehicles working along Kansas roadways will be fined.

Drivers who fail to comply with move over laws amended by the 2006 Legislature face a fine of up to \$180 plus court costs, according the Kansas Department of Transportation.

The first law requires motorists to slow down and move over if it is safe to do so for all stationary authorized vehicles engaged in work along the highway and displaying flashing lights, which includes highway maintenance vehicles, law enforcement, and emergency first responders. The second law prohibits drivers traveling on two-lane roadways from overtaking or passing another vehicle within 100 feet of such vehicles.

For the past year, violators of the laws, as they pertain to maintenance vehicles, were only issued warnings.

Last year, 14 people were killed and 657 were injured in Kansas work zone crashes.

07-206

Kansas joins more than 30 states that have laws to protect public works crews and other roadside workers.

###

This information can be made available in alternative accessible formats upon request. For information about obtaining an alternative format, contact the Bureau of Transportation Information, 700 SW Harrison St., 2nd FI West, Topeka, KS 66603-3754 or phone 785-296-3585 (Voice) (TTY).