Eisenhower State Office Building 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603



phone: 785-296-3585 fax: 785-368-7415 www.ksdot.gov

Calvin Reed, Secretary of Transportation

Laura Kelly, Governor

IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Jan. 24, 2024 For more information: Jenny Kramer, <u>Jenny.Kramer@ks.gov</u>, 785-296-5186

KDOT's Safe Routes to School program awards grants to 12 Kansas communities

The Kansas Department of Transportation announces 12 Kansas communities will receive grants to develop plans and support efforts to help build the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Program in their areas.

This is the first year applications have been accepted for the two types of SRTS Planning and Programming grants. Planning grants were awarded to the cities of Belle Plaine, Emporia, Holton, Parsons and Rossville. Programming (Kick Start) grants were awarded to Dighton, Johnson City, Mission, Moundridge, Saint George, Topeka and Wichita.

Planning grants will help develop SRTS plans to study existing conditions, facilitate public outreach and find potential infrastructure and non-infrastructure solutions. Kick Start grants are designed to support initial programs, events and projects to help build the program in the future.

SRTS is a national program that promotes walking and bicycling to school through infrastructure improvements, enforcement, tools and safety education. More information on the SRTS grant program can be found at https://www.kansassrts.org/grants-and-funding.

This information can be made available in alternative accessible formats upon request.

For information about obtaining an alternative format, contact the KDOT Communications Division, 700 SW Harrison St., 2nd Fl West, Topeka, KS 66603-3745 or phone 785-296-3585 (Voice)/Hearing Impaired – 711.

Click below to connect to KDOT's Social Networks:

