Eisenhower State Office Building 700 SW Harrison Topeka, KS 66603



phone: 785-296-3585 fax: 785-296-0287 www.ksdot.org

Mike King, Secretary

Sam Brownback, Governor

July 28, 2014 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE News Contact: Kim Stich, (785) 296-3585

## Poster contest aims to Put the Brakes on Fatalities

All Kansas kids ages 5 to 13 are encouraged to enter artwork in the 13<sup>th</sup> annual poster contest for Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day - a nationwide effort to increase roadway safety and reduce traffic fatalities.

Three statewide winners will receive family packages at the Great Wolf Lodge in Kansas City and also \$50 gift cards from Dillon's of Kansas.

A total of 18 regional winners in the six regions and age groups (ages 5-7, ages 8-10 and ages 11-13) will each receive a bicycle and a helmet donated by Safe Kids Kansas.

All entries must be postmarked by Friday, Sept. 19, and should be mailed to: AAA Kansas, Public Affairs, 3545 SW 6<sup>th</sup> Street, Topeka, KS, 66606. On the back of the 8 ½ by 11-inch paper entry must be the child's full name; age at time of entry; mailing address; county; a parent's name; and contact phone number. For more information, go to KDOT's website about the safety campaign by <u>clicking here</u>.

Below are the Kansas kids who have won the contest in the past three years:

## 2013 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas – Laura Edelman, Sabetha; Reagan de Koning, Axtell; Heather Kahler, Meriden North Central Kansas – Jada Eilert, Jewell; Ava Brunsell, McPherson; Hannah Wuertz, McPherson Northwest Kansas – Dashiell Brown, Quinter; Jessica Schroeder, Victoria; Kallie Leiker, Hays Southeast Kansas – Tucker Leck, Neodesha; Shelby Jones, Ottawa; Riley Brown, Humboldt South Central Kansas – Chevy DeBusk, Haven; Kendall Schoenhals, Haven; Blaire Haley, Arkansas City <u>Southwest Kansas</u> - Bristin Buttry, **Plains**; Bailey Scoggin, **Garden City**; Peter Hall, Garden City

2012 Poster Contest Winners

<u>Northeast Kansas</u> - Cresinda Bandel, **Oskaloosa**; Addison Mae Gehrt Westmoreland; Jacque Stroud, **Topeka** 

<u>North Central Kansas</u> - Kady Toole, **Washington**; Leah Feldman, **Gypsum**; Eleanor Wiles, **Gypsum** 

Northwest Kansas - Hayden Gottstine, Logan; Haylee Tien, Logan

<u>Southeast Kansas</u> - Kasey Paige Smith, **Cherryvale**; Anna Ecoff, **Parsons**; Riley Brown, **Humboldt** 

<u>South Central Kansas</u> - Von Woleslagel, Hutchinson; Lauren Mason, Benton; Heather Woleslagel, Hutchinson

<u>Southwest Kansas</u> - Serra Clarke, Jetmore; Carson Linenberger, Garden City; Clara Jackson, Garden City

## 2011 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas - Sierra de Koning, Axtell; Reagan de Koning, Axtell; Neeharika Kothapalli, Overland Park North Central Kansas - Elijah Schmidt, Junction City; Breckyn Martens, McPherson; Zoey Rankin, Ottawa Northwest Kansas - Aaron Moore, Oakley; Indigo Guise, WaKeeney; Donnovan Schroeder, Herndon Southeast Kansas - Abigail Balson, Coffeyville; Macie Ables, Fredonia; Nathan Cunningham, Iola South Central Kansas - Heath David Moeckel, Plevna; Britton Maclaughlin, Arkansas City; Jack Kelly Lynch, Wichita Southwest Kansas - Emmi Lott, Rolla; Emily Allen, Garden City; John Dohogne, Garden City

###

This information can be made available in alternative accessible formats upon request. For information about obtaining an alternative format, contact the KDOT Office of Public Affairs, 700 SW Harrison St., 2<sup>nd</sup> Fl West, Topeka, KS 66603-3754 or phone 785-296-3585 (Voice)/Hearing Impaired – 711.

Click below to connect to KDOT's Social Networks:



